EPDP Central Council Ends 8th Regular Meeting; Elects Executive Committee for One-Year Term

2017-09-18 21:11:42 Written by  EPDP Information Office Published in EPDP News Read 1666 times

The 8th regular meeting of the EPDP Central Council held the 5th session of its 8th regular meeting on Sunday, 17 September, and, among other things, elected its executive committee to lead the party for the next 12 months.

The top agenda item discussed in the meeting was the  EPDP proposal for an extensive dialogue in the Eritrean opposition camp with the aim of fining  a working formula for joint action by all political forces struggling for democratic change in Eritrea. The meeting heard reports on what has so far expired since the proposal was issued last June. The Council agreed on the modalities of contacting all concerned bodies and mandated the newly elected executive committee to follow the matter as high priority task.  Also discussed on the Sunday meeting and given appropriate guidelines was a report submitted by a standing committee for financial matters and social services.  

At the end of this final session, the 8th regular meeting elected a 9-member executive committee for a one-year term. Mr. Menghesteab Asmerom was re-elected with acclamation and asked to present his candidates for the executive offices.

Each of his candidates was voted one after the other and all had obtained the approval of the Central Council. Two of his executive team are new: namely, Ms Adiam Teferra, head of the EPDP Office for Women's Affairs, and Mr. Fissehaye Hagos, head of the EPDP Office for Social Affairs. Starting with Chairman Menghesteab Asmerom, the newly elected and re-elected EPDP Executive Committee members are, in alphabetical order: Adiam Teferra, for Women's Office; Debessai Beyene, Information Office;

EPDP 8th CC Meeting Ends Elects EC 17092017 doc 2 1

Fissehaye Hagos, Social Affairs Office; Idris Ismail, Executive Committee Secretary; Medhanie Habtezghi, for Youth Office; Rezene Tesfazion for Finance Office; Tesfai Woldemichael (Degiga) for Organizational Office, and Woldeyesus Ammar, for Foreign Office.

It is to be recalled that the  8th Regular Meeting of the Council held its first and second session on 26 and 27 August 2017 during  which it reviewed and adopted annual reports of the nine  executive offices  and other organs of the party. On the third session convened on 9 September deliberated on reports from North America and adopted appropriate decisions to address the destructive move by elements who refused to accept a Central Council decision to suspend one of its members till the next party congress.

The fourth session held on 10 September discussed and adopted a Party Renewal document and formed a new Commission for Party Renewal which is expected to report to  the Council at its extraordinary meetings to be held every two months.  Also decided in that session was election of  Mr Zerabruk Gebre-Tatewos  as the new Auditor General.  

Last modified on Monday, 18 September 2017 23:21